Thursday, February 17, 2011

The U.S. House adopted an amendment by Congressman Mike Michaud (D-ME) yesterday to restore the proposed $80 million program reduction for the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) as part of the chamber’s Continuing Resolution (CR) for the remainder of FY2011 (October 1, 2010 – September 30, 2011).   

To:       NADO Members From:  Matthew Chase, Executive Director Re:       Update on EDA Vote in U.S. House The U.S. House adopted an amendment by Congressman Mike Michaud (D-ME) yesterday to restore the proposed $80 million program reduction for the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) as part of the chamber’s Continuing Resolution (CR) for the remainder of FY2011 (October 1, 2010 – September 30, 2011).    Attached and below is the final vote results for Roll Call 50 offered by Rep. Michaud.  The amendment was adopted 305-127 with 145 Republicans (60% of the caucus) and 160 Democratic (83% of the caucus) members in support of restoring EDA’s budget to the FY2010 level.  Of the Aye (Yes) votes, EDA was supported by the House Appropriations Chairman Hal Rogers (R-KY) and 8 of the 12 Appropriations subcommittee chairs (known as the Cardinals).    Please be sure to thank your legislators for their support!  If your House members voted against the EDA budget amendment, please be sure to follow up with a letter and invitation to meet with them and hopefully bring them on a tour of successful EDA projects in your region.   The 2011 NADO Washington Policy Conference, slated for March 20 - 23 at the Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel in Arlington, VA (right across the river from the Capitol and quick metro ride!), is an essential part of the association's federal advocacy program.  The 2011 event will feature expert panels on federal budget and appropriations issues, key administration and congressional priorities, and insights into the association's regional development policy agenda.  In addition, the federal agency networking roundtable session will feature an opportunity to network one-on-one with representatives from more than 25 federal agencies and programs!    Register online today at or call Tawanna Harley at 202.624.624-7806 /     U.S. HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES FINAL VOTE RESULTS FOR ROLL CALL 50 (Republicans in roman; Democrats in italic; Independents underlined)   Michaud Amendment to restore $80 million in FY2011 funding for the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) with a $80 million funding offset from the U.S. Bureau of the Census periodic census account.       H R 1      RECORDED VOTE      16-Feb-2011      2:07 PM       AUTHOR(S):  Michaud of Maine Amendment No. 153       QUESTION:  On Agreeing to the Amendment Ayes Noes PRES NV Republican 145 95     Democratic 160 32   1 Independent         TOTALS 305 127   1   ---- AYES    305 ---   Ackerman Aderholt Akin Alexander Altmire Andrews Austria Baca Bachus Baldwin Barletta Barrow Bartlett Barton (TX) Bass (CA) Bass (NH) Berg Berkley Bishop (GA) Bishop (NY) Bishop (UT) Blackburn Blumenauer Bonner Bono Mack Boren Boswell Boustany Brady (PA) Braley (IA) Brooks Brown (FL) Buchanan Bucshon Buerkle Butterfield Calvert Camp Canseco Capito Capps Capuano Cardoza Carnahan Carney Carson (IN) Carter Cassidy Castor (FL) Chabot Chandler Cicilline Clarke (MI) Clyburn Coble Coffman (CO) Cohen Conyers Cooper Costello Courtney Crawford Crenshaw Critz Crowley Cuellar Cummings Davis (CA) Davis (KY) DeFazio DeGette DeLauro Denham Dent Deutch Dicks Dingell Doggett Dold Donnelly (IN) Doyle Duncan (TN) Ellison Emerson Engel Farr Fattah Filner Fincher Fitzpatrick Fleming Forbes Foxx Frank (MA) Frelinghuysen Gallegly Gerlach Gibbs Gibson Gingrey (GA) Gohmert Goodlatte Gowdy Granger Graves (MO) Green, Al Green, Gene Griffin (AR) Griffith (VA) Guinta Guthrie Hanabusa Hanna Harman Harper Harris Hastings (FL) Hastings (WA) Heck Heinrich Heller Higgins Himes Hinchey Hinojosa Hirono Holden Holt Hoyer Huizenga (MI) Hultgren Hunter Hurt Inslee Israel Jackson Lee (TX) Johnson (GA) Johnson (IL) Johnson (OH) Johnson, E. B. Johnson, Sam Jones Kaptur Keating Kelly Kildee Kind Kingston Kinzinger (IL) Kissell Lance Landry Langevin Larsen (WA) Larson (CT) Latham LaTourette Latta Lee (CA) Levin Lewis (CA) Lewis (GA) Lipinski LoBiondo Loebsack Lowey Luetkemeyer Luján Lynch Mack Maloney Manzullo Marchant Marino Markey Matheson Matsui McCarthy (NY) McCollum McCotter McDermott McGovern McIntyre McKeon McKinley McMorris Rodgers McNerney Meeks Mica Michaud Miller (FL) Miller (MI) Miller (NC) Miller, Gary Miller, George Moore Mulvaney Murphy (CT) Murphy (PA) Myrick Nadler Neal Neugebauer Noem Nunnelee Olson Olver Owens Pallone Pascrell Pastor (AZ) Paul Paulsen Payne Pearce Pelosi Perlmutter Peters Peterson Petri Pingree (ME) Pitts Platts Poe (TX) Polis Pompeo Price (NC) Quigley Rahall Rangel Reed Rehberg Reichert Renacci Reyes Richardson Richmond Rigell Roe (TN) Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rohrabacher Ross (AR) Royce Runyan Ruppersberger Rush Ryan (OH) Sánchez, Linda T. Sanchez, Loretta Sarbanes Scalise Schiff Schilling Schmidt Schock Schrader Schwartz Schweikert Scott (SC) Scott (VA) Scott, David Sewell Shuler Shuster Simpson Sires Slaughter Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Southerland Speier Stark Stearns Stivers Sutton Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Thompson (PA) Thornberry Tiberi Tierney Tipton Tonko Towns Tsongas Turner Upton Van Hollen Visclosky Walberg Walden Walz (MN) Wasserman Schultz Watt Webster Welch Westmoreland Whitfield Womack Woolsey Wu Yarmuth Young (AK)   ---- NOES    127 ---   Adams Amash Bachmann Becerra Benishek Berman Biggert Bilbray Bilirakis Black Brady (TX) Broun (GA) Burgess Burton (IN) Campbell Cantor Chaffetz Chu Clarke (NY) Clay Cleaver Cole Conaway Connolly (VA) Costa Cravaack Culberson Davis (IL) DesJarlais Diaz-Balart Dreier Duffy Duncan (SC) Edwards Ellmers Eshoo Farenthold Flake Fleischmann Flores Fortenberry Franks (AZ) Fudge Garamendi Gardner Garrett Gonzalez Gosar Graves (GA) Grijalva Grimm Gutierrez Hall Hartzler Hayworth Hensarling Herger Herrera Beutler Honda Huelskamp Issa Jackson (IL) Jenkins Jordan King (IA) King (NY) Kline Kucinich Labrador Lamborn Lankford Lofgren, Zoe Long Lucas Lummis Lungren, Daniel E. McCarthy (CA) McCaul McClintock McHenry Meehan Moran Napolitano Nugent Nunes Palazzo Pence Posey Price (GA) Quayle Ribble Rivera Roby Rogers (MI) Rokita Rooney Ros-Lehtinen Roskam Ross (FL) Rothman (NJ) Roybal-Allard Ryan (WI) Schakowsky Scott, Austin Sensenbrenner Serrano Sessions Sherman Shimkus Smith (NE) Stutzman Sullivan Terry Velázquez Walsh (IL) Waters Waxman Weiner West Wilson (FL) Wilson (SC) Wittman Wolf Woodall Yoder Young (FL) Young (IN)   ---- NOT VOTING    1 ---   Giffords     If you wish to be removed from the NADO  friends email list, please email

No comments:

Post a Comment